Get the new PortableApps.com Platform 10.0: Gorgeous themes, a full portable app store and advanced functionality
Announcing the World's Best Flash Drive: The PortableApps.com Companion | Did you see a malware warning on Friday?

[FIXED] New ClearSpring Tracker on Forum pages?

José Pedro Arvela's picture
José Pedro Arvela (Homepage) - October 8, 2008 - 11:10am

EDIT: It seems it was the social bookmarks widget used that added tracking without notice. John explains better further below on the comments and his article is here.

My Flashblock has found a new... code snippet on some of this site's pages. It shows a swf file from bin.clearsring.com on the site's header.

Here is a screenie:

[image]

I am seeing this on most pages except the forum indexes and the make a thread/comment page.

I also cleared my browser's cache to make sure it was not some messup. So, is this really a new tracker on PortableApps.com or is my browser loaded with spyware?


( categories: )

weired

I just checked some pages source code and I didnt find anything from clearspring.
Maybe its the bookmark feature thats causing it?

"What about Love?" - "Overrated. Biochemically no different than eating large quantities of chocolate." - Al Pacino in The Devils Advocate

Hmm

I can tell you I just installed Flashblock and got the same thing.

AddThis Privacy Issue. Fixed.

This began today. ClearSpring acquired AddThis on September 30th. Apparently today they began slipping in cookie-busting flash tracking objects to all pages that use their widget. So, we've ditched AddThis from our site and recommend that anyone else using AddThis do the same.

Can I use your image for a story on this?

Sometimes, the impossible can become possible, if you're awesome!

Story Up

Sometimes, the impossible can become possible, if you're awesome!

Nice!

Ok, I hope I have helped on someway and you can use the image if you want (although you already have another image Sticking out tongue ).

EDIT: Going to provide this info on a Portuguese blog too so more people know this.

EDIT2: It is here in Portuguese. Google Translation here.

#tuna { color: silver; smell: delicious; }

Still privacy issues?

I'm just curious, because sourceforge.net is using AddThis. And thus PortableApps.com users still come across the AddThis widget (if they download an app).

Ghostery

According to Ghostery, AddToAny counts as a "bug" too. False positive or real threat? (More at 11 Sticking out tongue)

Insert original signature here with Greasemonkey Script.

Hate those things

I hate those little social networking popups. I block 'em with Adblock, including the one here, because they have a tendency to pop up if the pointer gets anywhere near 'em, and they don't like to go away, either. As if everyone wants to run and blog about or tweet about anything here. (I follow both @PortableApps and @JohnHaller -- or is it @JohnTHaller -- on Twitter anyway, so I see the important updates if I'm there and they occur.) And then once they get big, they sell out to spammers and whatnot? No thanks across the board.

DISCLAIMER: My posts are my own and do not represent PortableApps.com in any way, shape, or form. I am just a regular guy who happens to be a fan of PortableApps.com and computers/software/gaming in general.