Get the new PortableApps.com Platform 10.0: Gorgeous themes, a full portable app store and advanced functionality
Announcing the World's Best Flash Drive: The PortableApps.com Companion | Did you see a malware warning on Friday?
|
Is this a cause for concern?
for lack of a b... - January 7, 2010 - 11:37pm
I really don't know if this is due to my ignorance but I came across this
link: [link removed] while looking for plugins for GIMPPortable
this site doesn't seem legit, it doesn't have any of the icons that portableapps.com has.
[Don't post links to sites that seem suspicious or anything like that; in this case, it's a known mirror site - and a great nuisance they are - mod Chris]
|
And
It's rated as "Very poor" with WOT (Web of trust) FF addon...
Toshiba is better to the environment than a lot of common electronic companies. Check out Greenpeace's Guide To Greener Electronics
Creepy
I'm actually kind of glad I got to this comment before the link was removed. I had only heard of two other bad sites so it's surprising to me that there are more... and also this one was creepy because it looks almost exactly like PA.com
Are there a lot more of these out there?
Toshiba is better to the environment than a lot of common electronic companies. Check out Greenpeace's Guide To Greener Electronics
Iv seen a couple.
Iv seen a couple.
Any one know why its there?
"It's just an online installer. It's not going to mug you.", JTH
"The shell is the key to unlock Linux's greatest advantages."
They're just pointless mirror
They're just pointless mirror sites that go and fetch everything from portableapps.com and mirror it somewhere else. I don't know why they do it. I don't know why Google indexes them (you'd think it'd be clever enough to compare the site and see that it's the same... and that one is clearly the authentic one). I'm aware of three, I think.
I am a Christian and a developer and moderator here.
“A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.” – Proverbs 15:1