You are here

SYNC with Toucan also for "deleted files" ?!?

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Carl_OS
Carl_OS's picture
Offline
Last seen: 15 years 2 months ago
Joined: 2007-11-18 09:00
SYNC with Toucan also for "deleted files" ?!?

Hi there,

just installed TOUCAN and wow - I am impressed how easy it works!
But maybe, Toucan doesn't solve my problems:

I am working on different Computers (Notebook / Desktop) with the same Data.
Sometimes I work with the one - sometimes with the other (it's not always the same with changes to sync - sometimes both have changes.

I thing EQUALIZE is the funtion I need, and it works:
- if I store new data, it'll be on boths computers after sync
- if I change a file the latest version will be on both computers after sync
(only if I change the same file on both computers I'll have a problem - but that's impossible to solve I guess...)

But:
My problem is what happens when I DELETE some files or folders on one computer.
What happens is, that EQUALIZE will copy those files back to the machine again.
What I would love Toucan to do is to DELETE them on the other machine as well.

My question:
Is TOUCAN able to solve this problem? Wich function I have to use than?
If not, is there any other nice APP I should use instead?

Thanx
Carl_OS

Steve Lamerton
Steve Lamerton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 4 months ago
Developer
Joined: 2005-12-10 15:22
Indded,

this is a known issue, and functionality to do what you want will be added in version 2.0, that is the version after the one currently in beta testing.

Carl_OS
Carl_OS's picture
Offline
Last seen: 15 years 2 months ago
Joined: 2007-11-18 09:00
thx...

...for your fast answer Steve.

So until waiting for v 2.0 I'll just have to delete files on both machines.

What do you think is the schedule? Some weeks, months or another year?

Just after using TOUCAN for 2 days only I already like it very much.
THX for such a useful application!

Jan (Carl_OS)

Steve Lamerton
Steve Lamerton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 4 months ago
Developer
Joined: 2005-12-10 15:22
Well

its kind of hard to tell, ideally I'd like to get it done early in the new year, but I have exams in January so it's hard to tell how much time I'll be able to devote to it.

Carl_OS
Carl_OS's picture
Offline
Last seen: 15 years 2 months ago
Joined: 2007-11-18 09:00
and how about RENAME ?!?

Is RENAME somehow the same like DELETE an on your list for v 2.0?

If I RENAME a file today in one folder I will havoe BOTH - the old file and the new one on both machines after SYNC. Obviously I only want to have the new one and the old one be DELETED.

Guess it's the same problem, right?
I am not at all into programming, but is it, that you need to know the timestamp of the last SYNC to solve these problems? (like: if there is a file only in one of the two folders it'll be DELETED if it's last change is older than the timestamp of last SYNC and it'll be duplicated if last change has been done after last SYNC). Right?

If so it might be usefull to define some kind of "JOBS" that have to be saved (otherwise no timestamp to remember) and mybe it might be also possible to put severals SYNCs of different directories into one of these "JOBS" so you only have to load one and do all the SYNCs with one click...

Or is this possible already?

Log in or register to post comments