You are here

User interface problems - Job Name and Adding files

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
vsny
Offline
Last seen: 13 years 2 months ago
Joined: 2009-08-02 19:07
User interface problems - Job Name and Adding files

I have two issues with using the GUI in the backup tab.

1- I'm sure it is in the help file but the Job Name feature is not at all intuitive. I thought it was to save setting for a particular job but every time I try to use it, it clears my settings and I have to start over. It's pretty frustrating.

2- When adding files - if I only add files it will add each new directory to the lowest level root. If I mess around with other settings and then add new directories it always embeds the new directory as a sub in the previous one. I always have to close the program and reopen to get it to do what I want.

I using the newest version (2.1.2).

Thanks for the great software.

Steve Lamerton
Steve Lamerton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 4 months ago
Developer
Joined: 2005-12-10 15:22
Ok,

thanks for the feedback, sorry for the delay, I have been away.

  1. The idea is that when you create a new job you click the new button and then input a name, when you make changes you just hit save and they are saved. What you you expect to happen / do you think would be a better way of doing it?
  2. This sounds like the issue in this thread, I will try to get it fixed asap.
vsny
Offline
Last seen: 13 years 2 months ago
Joined: 2009-08-02 19:07
Steve, 1. I think that is how

Steve,

1. I think that is how I would expect it to work. However, I've not been able to get it to do that. Why does it tend to clear all the boxes when I try to create a new job. Sorry I've only tried a couple of times so I cannot express my difficulty very well. All I know is I tried a few times and I could not get a job saved. I just could not figure out the correct order of operations.

2. That threads sounds a little different, but maybe fixing this will fix my problem. With my problem - I'm experience different behaviors based on differences in the program states. Sometimes when I add a second directory it's path is added as a root folder, other times it becomes embedded in the first directory.

Steve Lamerton
Steve Lamerton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 9 years 4 months ago
Developer
Joined: 2005-12-10 15:22
I

think the confusion might be that when you click the plus button to add a new job it clears anything you have already put on the screen, like the new button in Word or Excel.

And yes you are right, it is different, I am sorting this one now Smile

oakdale
Offline
Last seen: 6 years 5 months ago
Joined: 2009-08-26 14:13
... like the New button ...

Not quite, I suggest. Neither Word nor Excel (nor any other of the numerous apps with similar behaviour) destroys work done before naming the new object. At least not without warning. Most apps, if you try to save a nameless object, take you to the Save As dialog (and warn you if a name's already in use). If you try to save a nameless job in Toucan, it currently insists you overwrite an existing job or start again from scratch. It may be good practice to name the new object something other than "Document1" before doing anything else, but I can't think offhand of any app that insists on it.

And the user should be warned that he may not like what happens if he names a job e.g. SyncRemember, or some such.

Log in or register to post comments