By default, GIMP saves all new files to X:\PortableApps\GIMPPortable\App\gimp\bin.
If you save a file to a different location, GIMP will remember that, but only for that session; if you close GIMP, and then re-open it, it will once again save all new files to X:\PortableApps\GIMPPortable\App\gimp\bin.
Not an awful problem, EXCEPT:
When you update GIMP Portable, it blows away the bin folder, and any files you accidentally saved there are lost forever.
I lost a number of files when I just upgraded to 2.6.7.
I looked through the preferences, but I didn't see anything that would allow me to set a default "Save to" folder.
Can anyone help a brother out here?
P.S. I DID search the forums first, and I didn't see anything that would help.