You are here

Sync hides empty destination folders

5 posts / 0 new
Last post
Darkbee
Darkbee's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 2008-04-14 09:41
Sync hides empty destination folders

I'm using 3.0.4 on XP and it seems as though Toucan hides emtpy folders on the destination side when doing a preview, which in turn makes it look like the destination isn't an exact mirror of the source when in fact it is. I confirmed that the empty folders actually exist in both source and destination, they just don't seem to show in the destination preview.

Am I missing something obvious?

Ichneumon
Offline
Last seen: 8 years 7 months ago
Joined: 2010-12-19 14:40
Do you have "Preview Only

Do you have "Preview Only Changes" checked, or unchecked?

"Preview Only Changes" will "hide" any folder (or even entire folder trees) that are identical between the source and destination, so of course empty folders will be pruned from the preview. It only shows the folders that require some kind of change during the upcoming sync.

Darkbee
Darkbee's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 2008-04-14 09:41
Unchecked

Unchecked.

I'm glad I understand exactly what "Preview Only Changes" means now though. Thanks. Smile

It's amazing how playing with those three little words can create major ambiguity (IMO):
Preview Changes Only
Only Preview Changes
Preview Only Changes

Biggrin

Steve Lamerton
Steve Lamerton's picture
Offline
Last seen: 7 years 2 days ago
DeveloperModerator
Joined: 2005-12-10 15:22
To

be honest I never really liked the wording of the phrase, so I am totally open to suggestions on better ones. Also I plan to have a thorough going over of the sync preview code before pre-release 2 so hopefully that will fix your bug.

Darkbee
Darkbee's picture
Offline
Last seen: 4 months 2 weeks ago
Joined: 2008-04-14 09:41
No Easy Answer

TBH I think the problem is that there's no succinct way to say exactly what it does:
"Display only Modified files/folders"

If I can think of a shorter label I'll be sure to post. I'm sure it was covered in the documentation but to be honest I never bothered to look because I've never used the option.

Log in or register to post comments