You are here

U3 Apps - What happens if allowed to automatically update?

2 posts / 0 new
Last post
Neale Hind
Offline
Last seen: 15 years 3 months ago
Joined: 2006-12-20 08:06
U3 Apps - What happens if allowed to automatically update?

I have all the U3 apps from this site installed to my SanDisk Cruzer. If I leave "Automatically check for updates" on, the apps come up with available updates.

I switch off the automatic update checks as I presume they will not be U3 versions.

I did wonder though if (say) allowing U3 FF 1.5.0.7 to update to 1.5.0.9 would still result in a U3 app - or would it become a normal Portable App?

What experiences have others had of this?

John T. Haller
John T. Haller's picture
Online
Last seen: 2 min 58 sec ago
AdminDeveloperModeratorTranslator
Joined: 2005-11-28 22:21
Updates work

Just, as indicated on the project pages, you need to be sure to have at least 40mb free since they won't check on free space as they update (a shortcoming of the updaters). It'll be slow... maybe 5 minutes... during which you won't be able to use other USB drive apps.

Sometimes, the impossible can become possible, if you're awesome!

Topic locked