You are here

GPGPlugin deleted ALL my Files!- How get it return? nedd HELP!!!

4 posts / 0 new
Last post
bodobob
Offline
Last seen: 7 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: 2009-09-12 08:06
GPGPlugin deleted ALL my Files!- How get it return? nedd HELP!!!

Hallo,
i need very Importen HELP!
Last Night i´d downloaded and updated Thunderbird Portable on my extern HD, there are all my Files and some PortableApps stored. Thunderbird.exe is in the Main Dir.
By the way, downloaded and installed I the GPG from the Thunderbird PortableApps- Site also in the Main- Dir where the Thunderbird.exe stored.
Your are knowing my Probleme?
After installing GPG are ALL my Files deleted on the HD!!! Horror!

How i become my Files back?
Recuva (Piriform) find only older Files who can repair/ recovery.

My last Backup (Tucan-> sync) is 14 days old, but i have some new and VIP Mails and Doc´s there i have to give today to Law attorney.

grettings...

(Win10 64bit, HD= WD MyBook 2TB firedwired) answere prefered in German

John T. Haller
John T. Haller's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 57 min ago
AdminDeveloperModerator
Joined: 2005-11-28 22:21
How did you install it?

The GPG plugin is a shared plugin for use by multiple apps and is supposed to be installed to PortableApps\CommonFiles\GPG alongside your PortableApps\ThunderbirdPortable install. GPG is a common files plugin installer and will delete the contents of whatever directory you select to install to. If you want to manually install it into Thunderbird Portable (which I don't personally recommend), you can manually point it to PortableApps\ThunderbirdPortable\App\GPG. If you somehow selected to install it to PortableApps\ThunderbirdPortable which would require manually editing the path in the "Destination Folder" textbox, it would have wiped your Thunderbird Portable install entirely. When you did this, it should have warned you of the following: "The folder you have selected (X:\WhereeverYouSelected\ThunderbirdPortable) is not the standard installation folder for this plugin. This folder contains files within it that may be deleted or altered. Are you sure you wish to install to this folder?" I just recreated the above scenario and this is the chain of events that likely would have been required and that warning did show before I wiped my test Thunderbird Portable install.

Is the above scenario what occurred?

If you wiped the folder, you will have use backups and file recovery tools. Note that using the drive for anything after this occurred would begin overwriting files. For future reference, if you accidentally delete a file, immediately stop using the drive and then run file recovery utilities from another location to recover what you need.

Sometimes, the impossible can become possible, if you're awesome!

bodobob
Offline
Last seen: 7 months 3 weeks ago
Joined: 2009-09-12 08:06
something like it happened...

something like it happened...

Entered the path, pressed Return, coffee break made, back, pressed return... (was time to go to bed -tired-, and no PortableApp so terrible that's... )

I then tried with Recuva (file recovery tool) to restore - 5 hours, but all current folder and its subfolders have been overwritten, not again can be recovered. Plain old folders and files that were already deleted were restored (able to restore). After shut down computer and worked from another.

Thought the GPG encrypted the files or so. Or special overwriting?

Its my personal backup drive! The backup of backup is 14 days old, to old! 25 GB lost.
Can I delete all GPG files, or have run an uninstall App? I didn´t start GPG or so
Which recovery tool can undo the GPG deleting?

Thanks...

John T. Haller
John T. Haller's picture
Offline
Last seen: 1 hour 57 min ago
AdminDeveloperModerator
Joined: 2005-11-28 22:21
Unfortunate

Unfortunately there is no magic fix for this. Uninstalling will not help. As mentioned above, immediately stopping using the drive and using a recovery tool run from another location is the only thing you can do. The installer does no special wiping of files. They're simply deleted using the Windows API as with any other installer. What this does is free up the space. But then every single write operation on the drive is potentially destroying the data that was there. This is even more likely the more full the drive is. As the installer actually installed the GPG files, it was potentially overwriting some of the data. As you continued to use other apps from the drive, they were also potentially overwriting files.

The destructive nature of the CommonFiles plugins is the reason they have a prominent warning like that. If that warning is ignored, there's not much else we can do to fix the situation.

Sometimes, the impossible can become possible, if you're awesome!

Log in or register to post comments